The Narrow Road Tour 2024

RIDING LIGHTS THEATRE COMPANY presents

The Narrow Road, by Paul Birch

Powerful Theatre on the journey to Easter.

Riding Lights Theatre Company are pleased to announce a revival of their acclaimed passion play The Narrow Road by Paul Birch, for the season of Lent and Holy Week 2024.

For many years, Riding Lights Theatre Company has toured its passion plays to churches, cathedrals and communities across the UK, providing a unique, revitalising experience of the drama of Christ’s passion.

…vivid and contemporary, with moments of high drama…

– Church Times

A man stands alone on a dusty road, an extraordinary journey before him; one that will re-trace the footsteps of Jesus into a world of miracles and madness, violence and liberation. As The Narrow Road is walked, this turbulent world is turned upside down; its inhabitants confronted by an unexpected and surprising vision.

Meeting the characters and re-living the events of the gospels, this draws us back along that original road, through the place of the cross and into the challenge of a life beyond. Compellingly performed, The Narrow Road asks each of us to step out in faith on that journey today.

The performance opens up at key moments for other expressions of worship, music and reflection arising directly out of the drama, creating a powerful act of remembrance which is both participatory and reflective.

York-based Riding Lights is one of the UK’s most successful independent theatre companies and is internationally renowned for more than forty years of touring productions.

Touring February 28th – 30th March (Holy Saturday) 2024, we are taking bookings from churches and cathedrals now. Each performance costs £1,250 plus VAT, which allows you to decide whether you provide the performance for your community, accept donations from those attending or set your own ticket prices and keep all of the ticket sales. We give lots of practical support from our office including help with publicity and planning.

Please contact Patrick Burbridge on 01904 655317 (or email patrick@rltc.org) to book a performance or to discuss The Narrow Road further.

TOUR DATES

Wednesday 28th February, 7.30pm. Bradford Cathedral, BD1 4EH. Book tickets here

Friday 1st March, 7.30pm. Trinity Church, Leek, ST13 5JF.

Saturday 2nd March, 7.30pm. Christ Church Bayston Hill, Shrewsbury, SY3 0PZ. Book tickets here

Monday 4th March, 7.30pm. Wesley Memorial Methodist Church, Oxford, OX1 2DH. Email tickets@oxfordmethodists.org.uk

Tuesday 5th March, 7.30pm. St Mary Magdalene, Hucknall, NG15 7FQ. Book tickets here

Thursday 7th March, 7.30pm. St Thomas Church, Tonypandy, CF40 2BD. Book tickets here or call 01443 549496

Friday 8th March, 7.30pm. Bethesda Methodist Church, Cheltenham GL50 2AP. Book tickets here 

Monday 11th March, 7.30pm. St Editha’s Church, Staffordshire, B79 7DA. BO: Pay on door

Tuesday 12th March, 7.30pm. Hertford URC, SG14 1PG. Call 07930141446 for tickets

Wednesday 13th March, 7pm. Chelmsford Cathedral, CM1 1TY. Free admission

Thursday 14th March, 7.30pm. St John’s Church Hildenborough, Tonbridge, TN11 9HR. Book tickets here or call 01732833596

Friday 15th March, 7.30pm. St Paul’s Shadwell, East London, E1W 3DH.

Wednesday 20th March, 7.30pm. St Alban’s Church, Chiswick, Greater London, W4 5LG. Book tickets here

Thursday 21st March, 7.30pm. St James Church, Muswell Hill, North London, N10 3DB. Book tickets here

Friday 22nd March, 7.30pm. St Mary’s Church, Andover, SP10 1DP. Book tickets here or call 07518776771

Saturday 23rd March, 7.30pm. Christ Church Freemantle, Southampton, SO15 3BS. Book tickets here or call 07814305261

Tuesday 26th March, 7.30pm, Burley-in-Wharfedale Methodist Church, Ilkley, LS29 7DT. Call 01943463258 for tickets

Wednesday 27th March, 7.30pm. Galtres Centre, Easingwold, YO61 3AD.

Thursday 28th March, 7.30pm. St Nic’s Church, Durham, DH1 3NJ.

Friday 29th March, 7pm. Smawthorne Community Church, Castleford, WF10 5BP. Free admission

Saturday 30th March, 7.30pm. The Hive, Stoke-on-Trent, ST3 3JS. Call 01782698655 for tickets