Surprise Ending (York Big City Read)

by Bridget Foreman
for York Explore and The Big City Read 2018

Everything in Eric’s life seems to be shrinking. His trousers are getting tighter, he’s being moved to a flat with no garden, and he’s had to get a smaller TV. Even Kit Kats have been re-sized.

The only thing that’s getting bigger is his granddaughter, Smidge, with her life full of things he barely understands: technology, kick-boxing and Minecraft.

Then one night, everything changes for Smidge, and a trip to the library expands Eric’s universe into a whole new dimension. Playwright Bridget Foreman has written Surprise Ending which will be performed by York-based Riding Lights Theatre Company in all of our libraries and at surprise locations all over the city. Surprise Ending is a fun, light-hearted short play which will make you think about reading in a completely different way.

Take a look at the programme below to find out where your nearest performance is, book a ticket and come along, it would be rude not to!

Tickets are £2.50 and can be booked through the York Explore website.

Tour Dates:

DATE TIME VENUE
Wednesday 10 October 6.30-7.30pm York Explore
Thursday 11 October 6-7pm Acomb Explore
Friday 12 October 11am-12noon Mobile Library
check www.yorkexplore.org for the venue
Friday 12 October 2-3pm Tang Hall Explore
Saturday 13 October 2.30-4pm York Explore
Saturday 13 October 7.30-9.30pm Friargate Theatre
plus Q&A with the playwright Bridget Foreman
Monday 15 October 2-3pm Delwood House, Fulford
Monday 15 October 7-8pm Dringhouses Library
Tuesday 16 October 3-4pm Rowntree Park Reading Cafe
Wednesday 17 October 2.30-3.30pm Haxby Explore at Wigginton Recreation Hall
Wednesday 17 October 6.30-7.30pm City Mills, Skeldergate
Thursday 18 October 2-3pm Foxwood Community Centre
Thursday 18 October 6-7pm Clifton Explore
Saturday 20 October 2-3pm New Earswick Library
Monday 22 October 2-3pm Honeysuckle House, Dringhouses
Tuesday 23 October 2-3pm Dunnington Library
Wednesday 24 October 2-3pm The Glebe, Dunnington
Thursday 25 October 2-3pm Copmanthorpe Library
Thursday 25 October 7-8pm Bishopthorpe Library
Friday 26 October 2.15-3.15pm Strensall Library
Friday 26 October 6.30-7.30pm Fulford Library
Monday 29 October 2.30-3.30pm Huntington Library
Monday 29 October 6.30-7.30pm Glen Lodge, Heworth
Tuesday 30 October 6.30-7.30pm Poppleton Library